Side Hustles

I’ve been reading about something called passive streams of income. The articles tell how important it is to have side hustles in this economy. Especially when you decide you have a cat and a dog and want to get a few more. If we could afford to move to a bigger home, the kids and pets would have more room to spread out. I’ve been reading about budgeting and frugal living. It is really interesting to learn different saving tips and ways to stretch out your paycheck.

I started baking all natural pet treats to sell at flea markets and craft shows. I’m surprised by how much I love doing this.  In the past, I would avoid crowds at all costs.  No way could I have pictured myself doing this even a few years ago.  I enjoy the baking and I love the interaction at the shows. The other vendors and people attending the shows all seem so nice and outgoing.

Splotchy is my chief taste taster for the doggy treats and Squirrel is in charge of the kitty treats.  There are so many websites around with recipes for furever friends!  Most of it looks so good I want to keep it for myself.  The variety of different types of treats is a little overwhelming. My baking skills aren’t the best and I am trying to get better. I will tell you, the kids and I have tried more than a few. Some of them are really good.

This experience has also sent me on a bit of a side road.  It can be fascinating exploring through the maze of the flea market aisles.  Don’t forget that old adage of one man’s trash being another man’s treasure. I even placed some ads on craigslist looking for people whose yard sales are a flop or they want to downsize.  Hauling away their leftovers will hopefully help them and give me a free inventory. Checking out these discoveries is a little bit like waking up on Christmas morning and looking under the tree!

One thought on “Side Hustles

Leave a Reply

