Ripples in the pond

Ripples in the pond

I really enjoy my trips to the river with Splotchy. We get a change of scenery and some fresh air, plus a bit of exercise. It seems like we traveled to another world, when really its only a ten minute car ride. Depending on my mood, it can be quite a trip. Even if my depression is under control, I can still suffer the inevitable mood swings.
I’ve always been a firm believer that God gives us a special purpose or mission in this world.
Does anybody else feel this way? I just seem to be always searching to discover what mine is.

Sometimes I think working in a nursing home dementia unit is so important and other times I wonder if I should get outta there ASAP! Dementia is such an evil disease! People who work all their lives only to be struck down and not even be able to recognize their loved ones.
It’s such a waste. I sometimes wonder if all my precious memories will just be erased.
The upside is that I think I cherish each day a little more.
Sorry if todays ramblings put anyone in a funk. That isn’t my intention at all.
I do think it’s important to try tofind my great purpose, I suppose that is our reason to keep going. I am truly blessed to have my family and friends. I thank the Good Lord everyday for them!
I’m also grateful for this blog and for the others I follow. I’m learning about different people and their pets. There really is a reason for my journey down this   pathpets3 003pets3 013
I’d love to hear from anyone who has felt this way.
Have a great day til we meet again!

7 thoughts on “Ripples in the pond

  1. I really enjoy your blog. I took care of my Dad for 4 years before he died. He suffered from dementia . It does make you stop and hopefully appreciate . Thank you

  2. My Grandfather has Alzheimer’s. Luckily it has not progressed over the last few years- likely to the medication he is taking. I am sad, but prepared, for a day where he may not know who I am. Sounds terrible but for both of our sakes I hope he doesn’t make it that long.

  3. I understand exactly how you feel.
    It doesn’t sound terrible at all, especially to anyone who has seen the disease. Good luck to you both.

  4. It’s a special calling to have the patience, talent, and energy to work with Dementia patients. The patients and the families need caring, qualified staff. However, for those of us who have walked the path, it is understandable that the emotional challenges are heavy for those that take up the challenge.

    I think it reminds all of us to enjoy the moment.

  5. Woof! Woof! We always believe in Cherishing Every Moment. Going to different parks and life around you is PAWsome. Happy BlogPaws WW. Lots of Golden Woofs, Sugar

  6. I most definitely think God gives us a purpose. Not sure about mine but know what Kirby’s purpose is. I think yours is very special.

Leave a Reply

