I’m ashamed!

Yes, and I’m not sure what to do about it.

I told you I had been reading about puppy mills recently. Well, it turns out Lancaster County, PA is considered the puppy mill capital of the East!

2

I’m learning puppy mills are well known for their disgusting conditions and constant breeding habits. They breed unhealthy dogs just for profit, not caring if they are genetically or socially defective.
These puppy mills squeeze out all the profit they can by not spending money on proper nutrition, housing or vet care.
One of the sites I visited was called prisonersofgreed.org

 

The people who don’t know any better, buy these poor puppies only to often gain a very ill pup.
Thousands of $ are sometimes needed for medical costs. It’s also hard to socialize a pup that has been trapped in a tiny cage, not even touching the ground.

th

BJCard

Believe me, there are so many great things in my adopted hometown. Somehow that seems to make this stain even worse.

And I’m far from being an expert about this issue.
I have a lot to learn. I want to find out more about puppy mill rescue groups too. There was information on the need for foster homes for the pups.
Anybody with any info about this, please share it with me!

Sorry for such a downer of a post. I was just shocked to hear about this issue.
I guess I’ve kept myself pretty sheltered about any bad ne

I know this post will upset my sister! Sorry.

Don’t worry tomorrow I’m back with new Splotchy and cat pictures!
Hope to see you then.

15 thoughts on “I’m ashamed!

  1. When I signed up for grooming classes at a school where they boasted lots of “school dogs” to practice on, I didn’t know what they really meant.
    Until I started classes. And let’s just say I wasn’t happy with what I found out. It was horrible. 😦

  2. Don’t be mad about your post. You give a voice to the deplorable conditions at these puppy mills. And people need to know about it so they will not buy a dog and spread the word to their friends. The puppy mills make me sick. I look at those sweet face and I start to cry.

    Whisppy, you should report this practice to the local SPCA or PETRA. I wanted to volunteer at the ASPCA in NY to get involved with puppy mills. They told me I didn’t know how to walk a dog or put on a harness I had never seen before so they didn’t want me as a volunteer.

  3. No reason for you to be embarrassed. You didn’t know, and you certainly aren’t running a puppy mill! It’s good that you are sharing the information now that you have it so that others will know. If everyone understood about puppy mills, they wouldn’t exist.

  4. There is a movie about the Amish puppy mills . Madonna of the Mills. Cried all the way through it.

  5. Don’t ever apologize for blogging about what upsets you. We are all here to support one another in the good times and the bad ones.

    Puppy mills are absolutely terrible. They make me very sad and upset. I do not see how any human being with even the tiniest bit of conscience can subject an animal to that kind of treatment!!

    I really hope that one day we can get rid of puppy mills altogether!

    Purrs and hugs,
    Carmine, Milita, and Jewel

  6. This was a sad post! I’m glad you’re learning about ways to help stop them. Share what we can do! Love you! Your sister

Leave a Reply

