Flies, Fleas and other Yucky Things!

c==off 002I’ve lived through the last heat wave.  The older I get the more the heat seems to bother me. Hard to believe how I used to love spending long days out in the summer sun. I would just love my summer tan and wonder why people complained about the heat.  Now, I like to say it’s not the heat, it’s the humidity!  It seems this summer has produced a bummer crop of flies, especially in my kitchen!  I stopped today to get some nasty fly strips.  We spent most of the weekend trying to get a handle on the flea outbreak that I am also blaming on the heat.  The Laundromat and vacuum got quite the workout. New flea collars and flea baths seemed to have helped, too. I really think that between the fleas and the flies biting me, I have about a quart of blood left flowing through my body!c==off 004c==off 003 I guess we can survive these little problems. The locusts aren’t bad around here this year. Maybe the fleas ate them!

Hope to see ya soon!

10 thoughts on “Flies, Fleas and other Yucky Things!

  1. The flies are pretty bad here, too — and the mosquitoes, gnats, moths, and just about any other flying insect you can think of! I’d prefer to use a natural flea/tick repellent, but they’re so bad down here that I have no choice. I’m just glad I can get Trifexis for my girls. At least I don’t have to deal with the mess of the Frontline or other squirt-on stuff. It’s a little expensive, but it does the job. Over the years of my youth, we found that the flea collars were useless since most fleas congregate around the animal’s butt and abdominal area. We just had an exterminator come once a month and spray the yard. It seemed to do the job…but that was 45 and more years ago.

  2. We have had a good year with fleas but it was hot hot hot. Now cooled off so very nice this week so far. A thing about the frontline is that it will turn any fleas to neuters so no more fleas(Not really but that is an easy way to say it). Be very careful with any over the counter flea dip or powder which can be very toxic. Purrs
    Timmy

  3. We are fighting ants here. Mom and Dad use this natural stuff to try to kill them, but it only works when it is wet. We have flies too, but we’ll actually catch and kill those. We haven’t had a flea problem in years and years. Mom uses Advantage. It is supposed to be applied every month, but she only does it about twice a year, and still no problems. Heat and humidity here as well. Mommy really hates that too. Makes her very grumpy and short-tempered. We are going to keep you in our prayers that things improve for you. Purrs and hugs, Lily Olivia, Mauricio, Misty May, Giulietta, Fiona, Astrid, Lisbeth and Calista Jo

  4. Our summers are usually fairly dry, but this year we’ve had a lot of rain. We’ve found it much harder to cope in a humid heat than the usual dry heat.

  5. Oh my goodness. I loathe flies and fleas AND humidity (we get hot and humid weather year round. Gah). I recently had a flea outbreak and boy oh boy did those little suckers make me mad. I think I finally have it under control. But it was a horrible 2 weeks!

Leave a Reply

